Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Forestry

silviculture, ecosystems, logging, temperate forests, forest management, water management, riparian, watershed management, soil erosion, diseases, reforestation, deforestation, wood products, wildlife habitat, inventory, dendrology, sustainability

Reference Materials - electronic resources

Reference materials consist of items such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, almanacs, handbooks, manuals, and atlases that are often referred to for general, overview information.

The following titles are some examples of some online reference materials available in VIU Library and on the web.

Reference Materials - print

Reference materials consist of items such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, almanacs, handbooks, manuals, and atlases that are referred to for general, overview information.

The following titles are some examples of some of the print reference materials available at VIU Library:

  • The dictionary of forestry
    SD 126 D535 1998   (Stacks, 4th floor)
     
  • Encyclopedia of North American Trees
    QK 110 B46 2000   (Stacks, 4th floor)
     
  • A field guide to western trees : Western United States and Canada
    QK 133 P48 1992   (Stacks, 4th floor)
     
  • Forest ecology and conservation : a handbook of techniques
    QH 541.5 F6 N475 2007   (Stacks, 4th floor)
     
  • Forest fires : a reference handbook
    SD 421 O64 2005   (Stacks, 4th floor)
     
  • Forestry and biodiversity : learning how to sustain biodiversity in managed forests, 2009
    QH 75 F67 2009

 

  • Forestry handbook for British Columbia
    SD 146 B7 F68 2005  (Stacks, 4th floor)

 

  • The misunderstood forest

SD 411 N36 2008

  • Native trees of Canada
    QK 486 C2 H6 1990    (Stacks, 4th floor)
     
  • Northwest  trees
    QK 484 N95 A75    (Stacks, 4th floor)
     
  • State of the world’s forests
    SD 131 S72 2009 and 2011 (biennial publication) (Stacks, 4th floor)
     
  • Silvics of North America
    SD 435 B87 1990 V.1     (Stacks, 4th floor)
     
  • Textbook of dendrology : covering the important forest trees of the United States and Canada
    QK 110 T48 1991    (Stacks, 4th floor)
     
  • Tree and forest measurement
    SD 555 W37 2004   (Stacks, 4th floor)
     
  • Trees, shrubs, and flowers to know in Washington
    QK 192 L6    (Stacks, 4th floor)
     
  • Trees and shrubs of British Columbia
    QK 485.2 B7 B72 1996    (Stacks, 4th floor)
     
  • Trees in Canada
    QK 485 F37 1995   (Stacks, 4th floor)
VIU Footer