Library Guides @ VIU: Forestry: Articles & Databases

Key Databases

Databases can be accessed through these links, or from VIU Library's A-Z Databases page.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Indexing, cited reference searching, and full text linking for journal articles in Arts & Humanities, Sciences, and Social Sciences.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed journals in many disciplines with international coverage in full text.

National Forestry Database
"The National Forestry Database (NFD) is Canada's Compendium of Forestry Statistics, serving as our national source of credible, accurate, and reliable forestry statistics. The principal role of the NFD is to collect and compile national forest data and forest management statistics."

GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE offers information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts together with links to Open Access full text.
Cambridge Core This link opens in a new window
Cambridge University Press peer-reviewed journals across the sciences, social sciences and humanities. Cambridge University Press book titles may be available through other Library collections.
Oxford Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford University Press’s full collection of academic and research journals covering a broad range of subject areas, Date of coverage for most journals is 1996 forward.
SpringerLINK This link opens in a new window
STM journals, book series, books, reference works and the Online Archives Collection.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
International resource for scientific, technical, medical and scholarly journals, books, and reference works.

Google Scholar Search

Supplemental Databases

Trade Data Online - (Industry Canada)
- Canadian import/export information
- " provides the ability to generate customized reports on Canada's and U.S. trade in goods with over 200 countries"
Agricola: National Agricultural Library (U.S.)
- open access database
- 1979 to current
- Over 1,900,000 citations
- includes information on agricultural sciences and forestry research in North America
AgEcon Search: Research in Agriculture and Applied Economics
- open access
- includes working papers, conference papers, and journal articles in applied economics (agricultural, energy, environmental, resource, and consumer economics)

Canadian Newsstream (formerly Canadian Newsstand) This link opens in a new window
- all the major newspapers across Canad, including many small newspapers
- available in full text
Full text of Canadian newspapers, including Pacific, Black Press, and regional and national major dailies.
CBCA Reference and Current Events This link opens in a new window
- Canadian magazines, a few newspapers, and Canadian journal articles

Theses Canada Portal
- these are the Canadian research theses and dissertations completed for Masters and PhD degrees
~ 50,000 theses are available online in full text, the remainder (300,000) are available in microfilm in the Library and Archives Canada (National Library)
DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals
- these resources are free
- resources vary, some provide just the citation, some provide the abstract & citation, and some provide the full text of the journal article

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Digital video for thousands of educational titles. All videos in this collection are cleared for public performance.

Searching with keywords

The following list provides examples of keywords that can be used to search for journal articles on forestry topics in the databases listed on this page.

If you search in an individual database, you should combine your search terms/keyword, using an ‘and’ between each keyword.

For example: "forest management" and "british columbia", forestry and biodiversity, etc.

Note: Use the symbol * to search a keyword with various endings. For example, searching: forest* will search for: forest, forests, forestry.

Note: Enclose search terms/keywords having two or more words, in quotation marks to search for that concept e.g. "forest ecology".

Agroforestry

"biodiversity conservation"

bioenergy and forests

"boreal forest*"

"clear cut*"

"coastal forest*"

"cone regeneration"

"conifer forest*"

dendrology

epiphyte*

epiphytic plants

forest*

"forest conservation"

"forest ecology"

"forest ecosystems"

"forest genetics"

"forest growth and yield"

forest and insects"

"forest landscape management"

"forest management"

"forest management" and "british columbia"

"forest management" and hydrology

"forest management and law

"forest monitoring"

"forest policy"

"forest products"

"forest products industry"

"forest reserves"

"forest science"

"forest soil*"

"forest survey*"

forestry

forestry and biodiversity

"fungi conservation"

"habitat management"

lichen

logging

"lumber trade"

"natural resources" and forest*

"natural resource management"

"old growth" and forest*

"old growth stands"

pests and "biological control" and "forest management"

"pine beetle"

"rain forest*"

"salvage logging"

sampling

silvicultur*

"spruce budworm"

"sustainable forestry"

"timber production"

ree* (or spruce or balsam fir or yellow cedar, etc.)

"tree crops"

trees and "british columbia"

trees and canada

tree and identification

tree and diseases

tree and pests

"watershed management"

wildfire

"wildlife habitat improvement"

"wildlife management"

"woodland management"

"wood production"

"wood product management"

"wood waste" and fuel

"wood waste" and recycling

Library

Forestry

Key Databases

Google Scholar Search

Supplemental Databases

Searching with keywords

About VIU

Academics

Campuses

About VIU

Academics

Student Life

Campuses