Library Guides @ VIU: Chemistry: Databases

Key Databases - VIU Library

Note: Resources listed alphabetically

American Chemical Society Journals This link opens in a new window
- peer-reviewed research journals in the chemical & related sciences
- current issues & archive

ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication
(1) Scientific Communications; (2) Scientific Journals; (3) Data in the Google Era; (4) Scientific Style Conventions; (5) Editorial Style Conventions
more...less...
1st and 2nd year students should take note of 4.3 References under Part 4 Scientific Style Conventions

Cambridge Core This link opens in a new window
Cambridge University Press peer-reviewed journals across the sciences, social sciences and humanities. Cambridge University Press book titles may be available through other Library collections.
Oxford Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford University Press’s full collection of academic and research journals covering a broad range of subject areas, Date of coverage for most journals is 1996 forward.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Weekly publication focusing on scientific news, commentary, and cutting-edge research. Science was founded in 1880 and is published by the non-profit American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).
Springer Nature Link This link opens in a new window
- provides a large collection of online books, journal articles, and eReferences in Chemistry - STM journals, book series, books, reference works and the Online Archives Collection.

Note: The PROTOCOL journal articles only provide the citation and abstract for this series.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- all journals are peer-reviewed, provides citation indexing
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
- a multidisciplinary database that provides journal articles in all areas of Chemistry Note: The online books in this database are not available to VIU Library users.

Note: These resources are listed alphabetically :

CBCA This link opens in a new window
- provides a range of Canadian publications from academic journal articles to general magazines from 1982 to present
- some full text

DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals
- Peer reviewed articles in full text from a variety of disciplines

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
- a streaming video resource
- click onto this link and select the Science & Mathematics option on the left menu (then select for Chemistry)
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
- covers all aspects of human impact to the environment including global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, etc.
- provides indexing & abstracts, along with links to Open Access full text
JSTOR Journals Archive This link opens in a new window
- a multidisciplinary, full text, scholarly journal archive with strong retrospective coverage
- from ~ 1600 to the last 1-4 years
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- indexes articles and links to full text medical journal articles

PubMed
- provides links to full-text articles
- includes citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals back to 1948

SAGE Premier This link opens in a new window
- an interdisciplinary resource that includes toxicology, pharmacology, medicine, and materials science
Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window
Full text journals published by Taylor & Francis, representing Science & Technology, Social Sciences and Humanities disciplines. Coverage from 1997 to the present.

Theses Canada Portal
- provides indexing & abstracting for Canadian Masters and PhD theses and dissertations
- some electronic theses are available in full text

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics This link opens in a new window
- 101st edition
- Table of Contents includes: "Basic Constants, Units, and Conversion Factors. Symbols, Terminology, and Nomenclature. Physical Constants of Organic Compounds. Properties of the Elements and Inorganic Compounds. Thermochemistry, Electrochemistry, and Kinetics. Fluid Properties. Biochemistry. Analytical Chemistry. Molecular Structure and Spectroscopy. Atomic, Molecular, and Optical Physics. Nuclear and Particle Physics. Properties of Solids. Polymer Properties. Geophysics, Astronomy & Acoustics"