Library Guides @ VIU: Biol 322: Terrestrial Ecosystems: Articles & Databases

Key Databases - (alphabetical)

Cambridge Core
Cambridge University Press peer-reviewed journals across the sciences, social sciences and humanities. Cambridge University Press book titles may be available through other Library collections.
Oxford Journals Online
Oxford University Press’s full collection of academic and research journals covering a broad range of subject areas, Date of coverage for most journals is 1996 forward.
ScienceDirect
Weekly publication focusing on scientific news, commentary, and cutting-edge research. Science was founded in 1880 and is published by the non-profit American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).
Science Online
Weekly publication focusing on scientific news, commentary, and cutting-edge research. Science was founded in 1880 and is published by the non-profit American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).
Springer Nature Link
STM journals, book series, books, reference works and the Online Archives Collection.
Taylor & Francis Online
Full text journals published by Taylor & Francis, representing Science & Technology, Social Sciences and Humanities disciplines. Coverage from 1997 to the present.
Web of Science
Index of scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities that allows for exploration of the citation network.
- All cited references for all publications are fully indexed and searchable.
- Search across all authors and all author affiliations.
- Track citation activity with Citation Alerts.
- See citation activity and trends graphically with Citation Reports.
- Use Analyze Results to identify trends and publication patterns.
Wiley Online Library
Scientific, technical, medical and social science scholarly journals, books, and reference works.

Journal Title Abbreviations & Acronyms

ISI Journal Title Abbreviations
Journal Abbreviations - (UBC)
CASSI: Cas Source Index Search Tool
- use this tool to "identify or confirm journal titles and abbreviations for publications indexed by CAS since 1907, including serial and non-serial scientific and technical publications"

Citation Management

Citation Management: Tools & Alternatives

Google Scholar Search

Supplemental Databases - A (alphabetical)

If you haven’t found enough information on your topic using the key databases (in the box to the left), then continue your searching in the following supplemental databases.

GreenFILE
- provides information regarding human impact on the environment
- includes scholarly, government and general-interest titles on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more
JSTOR Journals Archive
- a full text, multidisciplinary database that has backfile coverage (many years) of dozens of journals in the biology sciences, aquatic sciences, botany & plant sciences, ecology & evolutionary sciences, cell biology, and zoology
SAGE Premier
Full text content from SAGE journals, 1999-present.

Scirus
more...less...
Index with links to journal content, scientists' homepages, courseware, pre-print server material, patents and institutional repository and website information.

Supplemental Databases - B

The following databases provide information on Canadian topics and/or a Canadian perspective on a topic or issue. In particular, they can provide some news and current events about issues such the melting of the polar icecap.

Canadian Newsstream
- provides the full text of Candian newspapers across the country
CBCA
- provides magazines, journal articles, and a couple of newspapers with some full text

Theses Canada Portal
- allows searching of all theses in Library and Archives Canada's theses collection est 1965)
- you can access and search the full text electronic versions of numerous Canadian theses and dissertations

Keywords - Searching for Articles (alphabetical)

The following list provides examples of keywords that can be used to search for articles on your topic.

biogeography

biomes

biota

"climate change"

"carbon cycle" or "carbon cycling" or "carbon flux*" or "CO2 flux"

"core sample*" (OR core sampl*)

ecozones

eccosystems (or grasslands or wetlands or prairies or desert or boreal forest or arctic, etc.)

environment

"global warming"

"gas exchange"

humidity

measurement

"microbial ecology"

microclimate

nutrient*

"nutrient cycle"

"nitrogen cycle"

permafrost

"permafrost soils"

"permafrost thaw"

"phenology

"plant ecology"

"plant community"

plants or lichen or moss

precipitation

radiation (sunlight)

"soil analysis"

"soil biology"

"soil respiration"

succession

survey*

temperature

"terrestrial ecosystems"

tundra

vegetation

wildlife (or mammals or insect* or birds or fish*, entomology, aves, etc.)

Note: Use the asterisk * to search a for keyword with various endings. For example, searching: sampl* , will search for: sample, samples, and sampling.