If you are finding too many results in LibrarySearch, another way to search is through subject-specific databases individually (also found on our Databases A-Z page). Listed below are subject-specific databases that may relate to topics in Social Work:
Index to journals and citations in the social sciences.
PsycINFO, the American Psychological Association (APA) resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from periodicals in dozens of languages. Some full text available through linking to other databases.
CINAHL with Full Text is a source of indexing, abstracts and full text articles for nursing & allied health journals dating back to 1982.
Citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Index of scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities that allows for exploration of the citation network.
Index and full text linking for medical journals.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) database provides access to Canadian periodicals back to the early 1970s. Coverage includes trade journals, general business publications, academic journals, topical journals, and professional publications.
You can also search in specific key journals related to Social Work, some of which are listed below:
You can also search our full Journals list for specific keywords.
VIU Library | email:library@viu.ca | Nanaimo: 250.740.6330 | Cowichan: 250.746.3517 | tiwšɛmawtxʷ: 1.888.920.2221 ext.6330 |
Report a Problem
