Library Guides @ VIU: Biol 334: Virology: Viral Families

Viruses - General

Internaitonal Committee on Taxonomy of Viruses
VIPR: Virus Pathogen Resource
- virus sequences data
Viral Infomatics Resources
- create a free account for data and information
Virology Classification - (Christian Beuret, Virologist, Spiez Labouratory Switzerland)

Viral Families

Viral Families: DNA and RNA - (Stanford University undergrad students)
Note: maintained by undergraduate students
ViralZone - (SIB Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics)
- includes taxonomy, hosts, strains, gene expression, replication. epidemiology, etc.

RNA Arenaviridae

ViralZone: RNA Arenaviridae - (SIB Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics)
- includes taxonomy, hosts, strains, gene expression, replication. epidemiology, etc.
Medscape: Arenaviridae
e.g. hemorrhragic fevers, Ebola, Lymphocytic Choriomeningitis

- includes background, characteristics, classification, pathophysiology, epedemiology, etc.
- "Medscape from WebMD is a part of WebMD Health Professional Network that includes theHeart.org and eMedicine.com"

RNA Bunyaviridae

ViralZone: RNA Bunyaviridae - (SIB Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics)
- includes taxonomy, hosts, strains, gene expression, replication. epidemiology, etc.
Medscape: Bunyaviridae
e.g. Ebola, hemorrhagic fevers, meningitis, encephalitis, pneumonia

- includes background, characteristics, classification, pathophysiology, epidemiology, etc.
- "Medscape from WebMD is a part of WebMD Health Professional Network that includes theHeart.org and eMedicine.com"

RNA Coronaviridae

ViralZone: RNA Coronaviridae - (SIB Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics)
- includes taxonomy, hosts, strains, gene expression, replication. epidemiology, etc.
Medscape: Coronaviridae
e.g. SARS, pneumonia

- includes background, characteristics, classification, pathophysiology, epidemiology, etc.
- "Medscape from WebMD is a part of WebMD Health Professional Network that includes theHeart.org and eMedicine.com"

RNA Filoviridae

ViralZone: RNA Filoviridae - (SIB Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics)
- includes taxonomy, hosts, strains, gene expression, replication. epidemiology, etc.
Medscape: Filoviridae
- includes background, characteristics, classification, pathophysiology, epedemiology, etc.

- "Medscape from WebMD is a part of WebMD Health Professional Network that includes theHeart.org and eMedicine.com"

RNA Flaviviridae

ViralZone: RNA Flaviviridae - (SIB Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics)
- includes taxonomy, hosts, strains, gene expression, replication. epidemiology, etc.
Medscape: Flaviviridae
e.g. hemorrhagic fevers, Ebola, CBRNE

- includes background, characteristics, classification, pathophysiology, epidemiology, etc.
- "Medscape from WebMD is a part of WebMD Health Professional Network that includes theHeart.org and eMedicine.com"

DNA Herpesviridae

ViralZone: DNA Herpesviridae - (SIB Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics)
- includes taxonomy, hosts, strains, gene expression, replication. epidemiology, etc.
Medscape: Herpesviridae
e.g. mononucleosis, Herpes Simplex, Cytomegalovirus Colitis

- includes background, characteristics, classification, pathophysiology, epidemiology, etc.
- "Medscape from WebMD is a part of WebMD Health Professional Network that includes theHeart.org and eMedicine.com"

DNA Mimiviridae

ViralZone: DNA Mimiviridae - (SIB Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics)
- includes taxonomy, hosts, strains, gene expression, replication. epidemiology, etc.

RNA Orthomyxoviridae

ViralZone: RNA Orthomyxoviridae - (SIB Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics)
- includes taxonomy, hosts, strains, gene expression, replication. epidemiology, etc.
Medscape: Orthomyxoviridae
e.g. pneumonia, influenza

- includes background, characteristics, classification, pathophysiology, epidemiology, etc.
- "Medscape from WebMD is a part of WebMD Health Professional Network that includes theHeart.org and eMedicine.com"

DNA Papillomaviridae

ViralZone: DNA Papillomaviridae - (SIB Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics)
- includes taxonomy, hosts, strains, gene expression, replication. epidemiology, etc.

RNA Picornaviridae

Medscape: Picornavirus-Overview
- includes background, characteristics, classification, pathophysiology, epedemiology, etc.

- "Medscape from WebMD is a part of WebMD Health Professional Network that includes theHeart.org and eMedicine.com"
Family Picornaviridae: positive-strand RNA - (Oregon State University, BI 420)
- 22 page pdf
ViralZone: RNA Picornaviridae - (SIB Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics)
- includes taxonomy, hosts, strains, gene expression, replication. epidemiology, etc.
Images for RNA Picornaviridae
Medscape: Picornaviridae
e.g. Rhinovirus, Pediatiric Echovirus, Hepatitis A, Hand-foot-and-Mouth disease

- includes background, characteristics, classification, pathophysiology, epidemiology, etc.
- "Medscape from WebMD is a part of WebMD Health Professional Network that includes theHeart.org and eMedicine.com"

DNA Poxviridae

ViralZone: DNA Poxviridae - (SIB Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics)
- includes taxonomy, hosts, strains, gene expression, replication. epidemiology, etc.
Medscape: Poxviridae
e.g. Smallpos, Monkeypox, CBRNE, Cutaneous Manifestations of HIV

- includes background, characteristics, classification, pathophysiology, epidemiology, etc.
- "Medscape from WebMD is a part of WebMD Health Professional Network that includes theHeart.org and eMedicine.com"

RNA Retroviridae

ViralZone: RNA Retroviridae - (SIB Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics)
- includes taxonomy, hosts, strains, gene expression, replication. epidemiology, etc.
Medscape: Retroviridae
e.g. viral pneumonia, HIV, Human T-Cell Lymphotrophic Viruses

- includes background, characteristics, classification, pathophysiology, epidemiology, etc.
- "Medscape from WebMD is a part of WebMD Health Professional Network that includes theHeart.org and eMedicine.com"

RNA Reoviridae

ViralZone: RNA Reoviridae - (SIB Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics)
- includes taxonomy, hosts, strains, gene expression, replication. epidemiology, etc.
Medscape: Reoviridae
e.g. Encephalitis, Colorado Tick Fever, Rotavirus, pneumonia

- includes background, characteristics, classification, pathophysiology, epidemiology, etc.
- "Medscape from WebMD is a part of WebMD Health Professional Network that includes theHeart.org and eMedicine.com"

RNA Rhabdovirus

ViralZone: RNA Rhabdovirus - (SIB Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics)
- includes taxonomy, hosts, strains, gene expression, replication. epidemiology, etc.
Medscape: Rhabdovirus
e.g. Rabies, Meningitis, Encephalitis

- includes background, characteristics, classification, pathophysiology, epidemiology, etc.
- "Medscape from WebMD is a part of WebMD Health Professional Network that includes theHeart.org and eMedicine.com"

Sub-viral particles (Viroids, virusoids/satellite virus)

Search the term: viroid to find the list:

Apple Scar Skin viroid

Avocado Sunblotch viroid

Citrus Bark Cracking viroid

Coleus Blumei viroid 3

Tomato Apical Stunt viroid

etc.

Note: Virusoids and satellite virus are not considered true viruses

ViralZone

RNA Togaviridae

ViralZone : RNA Togaviridae - (SIB Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics)
- includes taxonomy, hosts, strains, gene expression, replication. epidemiology, etc.
Article: Emergence of chikungunya virus in Indian subcontinent after 32 years: A review.
- pdf available
Medscape : Togaviridae
e.g. CBRNE, Equine Encephalitis, Viral Arthritis, Rubella

- includes background, characteristics, classification, pathophysiology, epidemiology, etc.
- "Medscape from WebMD is a part of WebMD Health Professional Network that includes theHeart.org and eMedicine.com"

Library

Biol 334: Virology