Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Management: Industry Research: Databases: Articles, Reports, More

This guide provides assistance in searching for industry resources.

LibrarySearch: Find articles, reports, books and more

Enter words or phrases that relate to an industry to search for articles, books, news and other information:


You can limit results to news, scholarly, trade publication articles, market research or other types of publication by using "content type" limiters.

  • Articles in trade publications or journals can be very useful - especially if you are looking for information about trends, forecasts or outlooks.

  • Articles from scholarly journals may offer insights into research & development or marketing theory related to an industry.

  • Market research reports may offer data and analysis for an industry, or detailed information about companies in an industry. 

Industry research: Trade journal articles search

Industry Information: Selected Reference Sources

FP markets: Canadian Demographics, 2010/ Financial Post
HF 5472 C2 F52 2010 (Nanaimo)

Current information on Canadian market surveys for different regions throughout the country.

Includes population, income, retail sales, household expenditure, housing, marital status, vehicles, home language, newspapers/radio stations/television stations, occupations, level of schooling, disposable income.

Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios
HF 5681 R25 T68, 2001 - current (Nanaimo)

Ratio analysis data for US industries. This resource is also available as a CDROM.

International Marketing Data and Statistics (for online version see Global Market Information Database)

HA 42 I56 2003- 2011 (Nanaimo)

Market survey, research & statistics, and demographic trends for all countries, except European.

European Marketing Data and Statistics (for online version see Global Market Information Database)
HA 1107 E87 2003 - 2011 (Nanaimo)

Market surveys, research & statistics, and demographic trends for countries in Europe.

Industry Databases

These industry-related databases may not be searchable through LibrarySearch or may offer added functionality if searched directly:

VIU Footer