Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Contacts

VIU Library Faculty

The Library offers many options for Research Help. You can book an appointment if needed.


For detailed questions, an appointment with a liaison librarian may be appropriate. To make an appointment, please contact your liaison as below.

Ben Hyman

University Librarian  
p. 250.740.6331 / 1.888.920.2221 ext 6331
e. ben.hyman@viu.ca

Lara Wright

Associate University Librarian, Library Operations
p. 250.753.3245 ext 2273 / 1.888.920.2221 ext 2273
e. lara.wright@viu.ca

Liz Laidlaw

Assistant to the University Librarian
p. 250.753.3245  ext 2030   Alternate Phone: 250.714.6311
e. liz.laidlaw@viu.ca

Jean Blackburn

Collections Coordinator; Library Systems
Liaison for: Health Programs (Dental Assistant, Dental Hygiene, Health Care Assistant, Nursing, Practical Nursing); Music; Data Services; Cowichan Campus
p. 250.753.3245, ext 2091
e. jean.blackburn@viu.ca

Michael Carrigan

Reference & Instructional Librarian, Web Projects
Liaison for: Art & Design and International Education
p: 250.753.3245 ext 2271
e: michael.carrigan@viu.ca

Patricia Geddes

Librarian & Coordinator for Indigenous Initiatives
Liaison for: Indigenous / Xwulmuxw Studies; Aboriginal Education Services; Faculty of Academic & Career Preparation
p: 250.753.3245, ext 2740
e: patricia.geddes@viu.ca

Natalie Hajduk

Reference & Instruction Librarian
Liaison for: Media Studies, Women's Studies, Early Childhood Education, Child & Youth Care, Social Work, Education Assistant and Community Support
p: 250.753.3245 ext 6335 / 1.888.920.2221 ext 2740
e: natalie.hajduk@viu.ca

Dana McFarland

Librarian & Coordinator for eResources & Scholarly Communication; Library Systems
Liaison for: History, Indigenous / Xwulmuxw Studies; Faculty of Education; Community Scholars
p: 250.740.6332
e: dana.mcfarland@viu.ca

Luke McLeod

[On Leave]
Learning Commons Librarian
Liaison for: Faculty of Management; Faculty of Trades & Creative Writing & Journalism, English, Modern Languages Studies, and Theatre
p: 250.753.3245, ext. 4287
e: luke.mcleod@viu.ca

Kathleen Reed

[On Leave]
Assessment Librarian, Data Services Coordinator
Liaison for: Media Studies, Women's Studies, Early Childhood Education, Child & Youth Care, Social Work, Education Assistant and Community Support; Faculty of Social Sciences
p: 250.753.3245, ext 2271
e: kathleen.reed@viu.ca

Daniel Sifton

Library Automation & Technical Services Coordinator; Library Systems
Liaison for: Faculty of Education
p: 250.753.3245, ext 2444
e: daniel.sifton@viu.ca

Andie Tomlinson

[On Leave]
Librarian, Coordinator for Special Collections & Digital Integrations
Liaison for: Faculty of Science & Technology
p: 250.753.3245, ext 2268
e: andie.tomlinson@viu.ca

Lori Walter

Librarian and Coordinator for Copyright and Open Licensing
e: lori.walter@viu.ca

[Position Vacant]

 

VIU Footer