Skip to Main Content
Our Pledge Ask the Library

Library

History 116

Source Ideas for HIST 116 Research Assignment

13 Sept 19

Published collections of primary sources. These are licensed (subscribed) by the Library.

For example:

Newspapers and other collections of digitized primary sources. These are Open Access or free to access through libraries, archives, museums or other nonprofits.

Indigenous Heritage, Library and Archives Canada, https://www.bac-lac.gc.ca/eng/discover/aboriginal-heritage/pages/introduction.aspx.

Indian Health Services/Medical Services Branch Annual Reports, 1945-1990, http://iportal.usask.ca/index.php?sid=934340211&id=33804&t=details&having=1800538

Vancouver Island Treaties and Translations, BC Archives, https://royalbcmuseum.bc.ca/bc-archives/what-we-have/indigenous-material/vancouver-island-treaty-translations.

Government of Canada, Treaty Texts, https://www.aadnc-aandc.gc.ca/eng/1370373165583/1370373202340. [Also here: https://archive-it.org/organizations/700?q=treaty+texts&page=1&show=Sites ]

Louis Bird, Omushkego Oral History Project, https://www.ourvoices.ca/index.

CBC Digital Archives, https://www.cbc.ca/archives/categories/society/native-issues/

NFB (National Film Board), Indigenous Peoples in Canada (First Nations and Métis), https://www.nfb.ca/subjects/indigenous-peoples-in-canada-first-nations-and-metis/

NFB (National Film Board), Indigenous Peoples in Canada (Inuit), https://www.nfb.ca/subjects/indigenous-peoples-in-canada-inuit/

Indian History Film Project, University of Regina, https://ourspace.uregina.ca/handle/10294/26

 

What organizations or individuals may have created or kept records?
  • governments, institutions
  • religious, service, non-profit organizations
  • libraries, museums, archives
  • ...

Online sources: Open vs. subscription

What if it isn't online?

"When You Destroy Part of the Land, You Destroy Me Also. I Am Part of the Land." Akwesasne Notes, Early Autumn, 1973, 30. Indigenous Peoples: North America (accessed July 15, 2019). http://link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/KXBWRR383549107/INDP?u=bcptstothepast&sid=INDP&xid=eb0fbd09.

From concepts and key words to search strategy...

 

For example: 

"first nations" "hydroelectric projects" 

("first nations" OR aboriginal OR indigenous OR "indians of north america" OR "native peoples") (dams OR hydroelectric OR "hydro-electric")

"Cowichan sweaters" "cultural appropriation" 

(Cowichan OR Quw'utsun OR Khowutzun) AND (sweaters OR knit*) AND ("cultural appropriation" OR "cultural property" OR "intellectual property" OR ownership)

 

Where to look for scholarly, secondary sources depends on the nature and scope of your topic...

 

One useful article may help to locate others. For example:

Look at references (footnotes, endnotes, bibliography) to trace the sources the author used.

In this case, a potentially useful book is found in the Library collection.

More recent related sources can be found by tracing sources forward in time, with "cited by" in Google Scholar and sometimes in LibrarySearch.

image shows an article retrieved online that cites a book found in a reference list

Google Scholar Search

Working in a culturally appropriate way involves showing respect for Indigenous cultural Protocols and values, both in the work process and on the page...

Finding your way through requires thought, care attention, and dialogue. It requires working with people. It requires the engagement and inclusion needed for a new conversation needed between Indigenous Peoples and settler society.

Younging, Gregory. 2018. Elements of Indigenous Style : A Guide for Writing By and About Indigenous Peoples. [Edmonton, Alberta]: Brush Education.

Working in a culturally appropriate way involves showing respect for Indigenous cultural Protocols and values, both in the work process and on the page. Showing respect does not come from following rules. This chapter won’t tell you “what to do” so you can jump through hoops and check the “did it” box. There is no single, cookbook way to do Indigenous publishing, because Indigenous Peoples are diverse. Indigenous publishing is about finding your way through, grounded in respect for Indigenous ways of being in the world and for Indigenous Peoples as distinct from one another. Finding your way through requires thought, care, attention, and dialogue. It requires working with people. It requires the engagement and inclusion needed for a new conversation between Indigenous Peoples and settler society.

MLA (Modern Language Assoc.)
Younging, Gregory. Elements of Indigenous Style : A Guide for Writing By and About Indigenous Peoples. Brush Education, 2018.

APA (American Psychological Assoc.)
Younging, G. (2018). Elements of Indigenous Style : A Guide for Writing By and About Indigenous Peoples. [Edmonton, Alberta]: Brush Education.
Working in a culturally appropriate way involves showing respect for Indigenous cultural Protocols and values, both in the work process and on the page. Showing respect does not come from following rules. This chapter won’t tell you “what to do” so you can jump through hoops and check the “did it” box. There is no single, cookbook way to do Indigenous publishing, because Indigenous Peoples are diverse. Indigenous publishing is about finding your way through, grounded in respect for Indigenous ways of being in the world and for Indigenous Peoples as distinct from one another. Finding your way through requires thought, care, attention, and dialogue. It requires working with people. It requires the engagement and inclusion needed for a new conversation between Indigenous Peoples and settler society.

MLA (Modern Language Assoc.)
Younging, Gregory. Elements of Indigenous Style : A Guide for Writing By and About Indigenous Peoples. Brush Education, 2018.

APA (American Psychological Assoc.)
Younging, G. (2018). Elements of Indigenous Style : A Guide for Writing By and About Indigenous Peoples. [Edmonton, Alberta]: Brush Education.
Working in a culturally appropriate way involves showing respect for Indigenous cultural Protocols and values, both in the work process and on the page. Showing respect does not come from following rules. This chapter won’t tell you “what to do” so you can jump through hoops and check the “did it” box. There is no single, cookbook way to do Indigenous publishing, because Indigenous Peoples are diverse. Indigenous publishing is about finding your way through, grounded in respect for Indigenous ways of being in the world and for Indigenous Peoples as distinct from one another. Finding your way through requires thought, care, attention, and dialogue. It requires working with people. It requires the engagement and inclusion needed for a new conversation between Indigenous Peoples and settler society.

MLA (Modern Language Assoc.)
Younging, Gregory. Elements of Indigenous Style : A Guide for Writing By and About Indigenous Peoples. Brush Education, 2018.

APA (American Psychological Assoc.)
Younging, G. (2018). Elements of Indigenous Style : A Guide for Writing By and About Indigenous Peoples. [Edmonton, Alberta]: Brush Education.
Working in a culturally appropriate way involves showing respect for Indigenous cultural Protocols and values, both in the work process and on the page. Showing respect does not come from following rules. This chapter won’t tell you “what to do” so you can jump through hoops and check the “did it” box. There is no single, cookbook way to do Indigenous publishing, because Indigenous Peoples are diverse. Indigenous publishing is about finding your way through, grounded in respect for Indigenous ways of being in the world and for Indigenous Peoples as distinct from one another. Finding your way through requires thought, care, attention, and dialogue. It requires working with people. It requires the engagement and inclusion needed for a new conversation between Indigenous Peoples and settler society.

MLA (Modern Language Assoc.)
Younging, Gregory. Elements of Indigenous Style : A Guide for Writing By and About Indigenous Peoples. Brush Education, 2018.

APA (American Psychological Assoc.)
Younging, G. (2018). Elements of Indigenous Style : A Guide for Writing By and About Indigenous Peoples. [Edmonton, Alberta]: Brush Education.
Working in a culturally appropriate way involves showing respect for Indigenous cultural Protocols and values, both in the work process and on the page. Showing respect does not come from following rules. This chapter won’t tell you “what to do” so you can jump through hoops and check the “did it” box. There is no single, cookbook way to do Indigenous publishing, because Indigenous Peoples are diverse. Indigenous publishing is about finding your way through, grounded in respect for Indigenous ways of being in the world and for Indigenous Peoples as distinct from one another. Finding your way through requires thought, care, attention, and dialogue. It requires working with people. It requires the engagement and inclusion needed for a new conversation between Indigenous Peoples and settler society.

MLA (Modern Language Assoc.)
Younging, Gregory. Elements of Indigenous Style : A Guide for Writing By and About Indigenous Peoples. Brush Education, 2018.

APA (American Psychological Assoc.)
Younging, G. (2018). Elements of Indigenous Style : A Guide for Writing By and About Indigenous Peoples. [Edmonton, Alberta]: Brush Education.

Selected resources for ethical consideration and use of Indigenous sources of information:

VIU Library | email:library@viu.ca | Nanaimo: 250.740.6330 | Cowichan: 250.746.3517 | tiwšɛmawtxʷ: 1.888.920.2221 ext.6330 | Facebook logo Instagram logo Report a Problem

VIU Footer

About VIU

Academics

Campuses

Google Map of Vancouver+Island+University+Locations
Vancouver Island University
900 Fifth Street
Nanaimo, BC
V9R 5S5
Canada
250.753.3245
1.888.920.2221
info@viu.ca
The VIU community acknowledges and thanks the Snuneymuxw, Quw’utsun and Tla’amin, on whose traditional lands we teach, learn, research, live and share knowledge.