Library Guides @ VIU: English 115: Intro to Library Research: 2020 Spring (P. Watkins)

Information-related learning outcomes for English 115 and beyond

Define nature and extent of the information needed
Access information effectively and efficiently
Evaluate information and its sources critically; Incorporate selected information into your knowledge base
Use information effectively to accomplish a specific purpose
Understand economic, legal, and social issues related to the use of information; access and use information ethically and legally

in support of VIU's Graduate Attributes.

Example:

We're out of protein powder! (crickets chirping) pic.twitter.com/JDVfmFacPr
— John Belshaw (@JohnBelshaw) February 8, 2019

idea >> express in words

bugs as food > edible insects > entomophagy

explore >> research question

what is it about bugs as food that interests me?

What are some advantages of eating insects? Are there downsides?
Why are insects not more popular as a source of food? Why do some people object to them, and how might objections be addressed?
???

Key words & concepts? Consider:

	bugs	food	farming
Broader...	livestock	health	food production
Narrower...	crickets	protein	breeding
Related...	alternative protein	nutrition	sustainability

LibrarySearch & other databases:

look for limiters > e.g. content type = scholarly / peer review

Specialized databases may offer specialized limiters, for example:

Business Source Complete: Business Searching Interface > publication type = trade publication
PsycINFO > limiters include: population, audience, methodology (...more)

LibrarySearch: Find articles, books & more

Field guide to articles

	Academic article	Popular article	Trade / Industry article
Author	expert in subject / discipline often affiliated with a university or research centre	often a journalist or staff writer	often a staff writer or practitioner
Length	lengthy (10-30 pages)	usually short, up to 10 pages	usually short, up to 10 pages
Audience	for readers who work / study in the same discipline or field	for general readership	for practitioner / industry audience
Content	specialized language / vocabulary reports outcomes of original scholarship / research	topical or general content may refer to other people's research	topical content may refer to other people's research may use technical language
Illustrations	often includes data tables, graphs, charts visual material elaborates what is discussed in the text	production quality may be high (glossy, white space) often contains photos, ads	production quality may be high (glossy, white space) often contains photos, ads
References	yes, including in-text citations, or foot / endnotes, as well as reference list or bibliography	no may suggest further reading	no may suggest further reading
Publisher	often a university, or professional or scholarly association	trade publishers, news & media companies	industry associations
Distribution	available by subscription or open access online, membership in scholarly societies	often available at newsstands popular subscriptions available in all types of libraries	personal or organizational subscription, or by membership
Examples	Scholarly journal: Food Security Article: Halloran, A., et al. "Regulating Edible Insects: The Challenge of Addressing Food Security, Nature Conservation, and the Erosion of Traditional Food Culture." Food Security, vol. 7, no. 3, 2015., pp. 739-746 doi:10.1007/s12571-015-0463-8.	Popular magazine: Macleans Article: BOREL, BROOKE. "THE RISE Of The INCREDIBLE, EDIBLE! INSECT." Popular Science 286.5 (2015): 44-49. Web. 20 Oct. 2016.	Trade journal: Restaurant Business Article: "Insects As The Food Of The Future." Candy Industry 179.8 (2014): 47. Retrieved: 20 Oct. 2016.

What is an article? A journal?

Example of an online journal and articles
Print journals look like this...

Megido, Rudy Caparros, et al. "Consumer acceptance of insect-based alternative meat products in Western countries." Food Quality and Preference 52 (2016): 237-243.

Mirsky, S. "For Dessert, May I Recommend the Buglava?" Scientific American, 311.3 (2014): 96. Web. 8 May 2017.

Burdg, Jessica. "Are Insects The Protein Of The Future?" Laboratory Equipment 52.9 (2016): 22-23. Web. 20 Oct. 2016.

Check bibliographies / reference lists of useful articles or books to trace their sources.

Popular or trade sources may mention academic studies or researchers that you can look up.

Check Google Scholar to see if a useful book or article has been cited by other, more recent, publications.

Library > find > Google Scholar (VIU access)

Google Scholar (VIU access) This link opens in a new window
Searches from this VIU-authenticated version of Google Scholar link to VIU resources where applicable. Search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.