Skip to Main Content

Our Pledge Ask the Library

Library

RMOT 397: Natural Resource Forensic Investigations

Forensics - Canada

Alberta Fish and Wildlife Forensic Unit
Alberta Fish and Wildlife Officers Using DNA to Take Down Poachers
- online video (youtube)
Ballistics Analysis - (Royal Canadian Mounted Police)
Canadian Integrated Ballistics Network - (Royal Canadian Mounted Police)
Centre for Forensic Science - (Ministry of Community Safety and Correctional Services, Ontario)
DNA Profiling Used to Convict Poachers - (Ministry of Natural Resources, Ontario)
Dr. Gail Anderson, Forensic Science Website - (SFU)
- Forensic Entomology expert
Fish, Fraud, and Forensics: NOAA’s Forensic Analysts Safeguard Our Seafood Supply and Defend Protected Species - (NOAA Fisheries)
Fish and Wildlife Forensic Unit :Special investigations and forensic services section - (Justice & Solicitor General, Alberta)
- DNA Testing
FORENSIC ENTOMOLOGY : THE USE OF INSECTS IN DEATH INVESTIGATIONS
- by Dr. Gail anderson
Forensic Laboratories - Canada
Note: Not specifically for wildlife
Forensic Necropsy of Wildlife
- article by a veterinary pathologist (pdf)
- click and then view the pdf download
Forensics.ca: Forensic Science Portal - Resources
- provides a listing of links e.g. Biology - DNA
Forensics.ca : the Forensics Science Portal
- a directory of links to forensic labs
Royal Canadian Mounted Police: Forensic Science and Identification Services
Wildlife Forensic DNA Laboratory - (Trent Univ., Ont.)
- "Recommended Methods of Evidence Sample Selection and Collection
for Wildlife DNA Forensic Analysis."
Wildlife Forensics - (Environment Canada)

Important Sites!

Canadian Integrated Ballistics Network - (Royal Canadian Mounted Police)
Forensics Laboratory - (US Fish and Wildlife Service Lab, Ashland, Oregon)
Wildlife Forensic DNA Laboratory - (Trent University, Ontario)
- "Recommended Methods of Evidence Sample Selection and Collection for Wildlife DNA Forensic Analysis."

Forensics - US

Emerging Wildlife Diseases
- information on avian flu, white nose syndrome, west nile virus, avian botulism, avian pox, foot and mouth disease, etc.
FBI - Wildlife
Feather Atlas (US Fish and Wildlife, Forensics Laboratory)
Field Manual of Wildlife Disease - (USGS)
- includes field procedures, bacterial/fungal/viral/parasitic diseases, biotoxins, chemical toxins, etc.
Forensic (medico-legal) necropsy of wildlife, 1996
Forensic Entomology: Insects in Legal Investigations
Forensics Laboratory - (US Fish and Wildlife Service Lab, Ashland, Oregon)
- "we examine, identify, and compare evidence using a wide range of scientific procedures and instruments, in the attempt to link suspect, victim, and crime scene with physical evidence"
Getting Evidence to the Lab - (US Fish and Wildlife, Forensics Laboratory, Ashland, Oregon)
- includes pages on getting evidence to the lab, packaging evidence, and shipping evidence
How to Necropsy a Bird by Dr. Corrie Brown. 2012. University of Georgia Department of Veterinary Pathology
A Field Manual for Collection of Specimens
to Enhance Diagnosis of Animal Diseases
Introduction to Firearms Identification: General Rifling Characteristics - (FirearmsID.com)
National Wildlife Health Center - (USGS)
THE NECROPSY BOOK A Guide for Veterinary Students, Residents, Clinicians, Pathologists, and Biological Researchers by Dr. John King. 2013
Shoe and Tire Impressions in Snow: Photography and Casting - a journal article
- for articles not in the VIU collection, request them using the library's Interlibrary Loan system
SWGWILD: Science Working Group for Wildlife - (Veterinary Genetics Laboratory, University of California, Davis )
- "Providing essential standardization for the scientific analysis of evidence in cases involving wild and domesticated fauna and flora."
- pdf doc
SWGWILD Standards and Guidelines, December 2012
Veterinary Genetics Laboratory - (University of California, Davis )

Forensics - International

Australian Wildlife Forensic Services - (Murdoch University)
Inter-Research Science Center: Forensic Methods in Conservation Research
- scroll down the page for full text articles
Manual: Wild Bird HPAI Surveillance, Sample Collection from Healthy, Sick and Dead Birds - (Australian Registry of Wildlife Health)
- 55 pages
Member Labs - (Society for Wildlife Forensic Science)
National Wildlife Crime Unit - (UK)
Sick and Dead Bird Surveillance: Sample Collection Protocol - (Australian Registry of Wildlife Health)
- 18 pages
Small Animal Necropsy Workshop, 2012 - (Australian Registry of Wildlife Health)
- provides notes from this workshop, 17 pages
Trace: Wildlife Forensics Network - (Scotland, UK)
- provides information on setting up a wildlife DNA forensics lab
Wildlife and Forest Crime Forensic Guidelines (UNODC)
Wildlife Crime: A guide to the use of forensic and specialist techniques in the investigation of wildlife crime - (UK)
- 106 page doc
Wildlife Crime Working Group - (Interpol)
Wildlife Sampling Guide: Instructions for the Wildlife DNA Sampling Kit - (UK)

Wildlife Forensic Careers

Societies & Associations

American Academy of Forensic Sciences
IFAW: International Fund for Animal Welfare
NAWEOA: North American Wildlife Enforcement Officers Association
Society for Wildlife Forensic Science
- formed November 2009
- international
- "goal of protecting and conserving wildlife is shared by many and is an extraordinarily worthwhile pursuit"

VIU Footer