HASTAC ("haystack") is a network of individuals and institutions inspired by the possibilities that new technologies offer us for shaping how we learn, teach, communicate, create, and organize our local and global communities.

A comprehensive database established by communications scholars around the world.

The Pew Research Center for the People & the Press is an independent, non-partisan public opinion research organization that studies attitudes toward politics, the press and public policy issues. In this role it serves as a valuable information resource for political leaders, journalists, scholars and citizens.

A large site covering all aspects of how we change what others think, believe, feel and do.

Technology challenges for digital culture.

Provides "a daily briefing of the most important news stories about the business of digital media."

A cybertext covering major issues in the media/communications field.

"The New Media Consortium (NMC) is an international not-for-profit consortium of learning-focused organizations dedicated to the exploration and use of new media and new technologies."

The Internet Archive includes texts, audio, moving images, and software as well as archived web pages in our collections. Its purposes include offering permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format.

A collection of links to useful sites in the Communication Studies field collected by American Library Association members.

Provides social media news and web tips.

"A non-profit initiative dedicated to digitizing collections of classic media periodicals that belong in the public domain for full public access."

Nielsen ratings measure the popularity of American television programs. Developed by Nielsen Media Research, the ratings are not qualitative evaluations of how much a program is "liked," but, instead, how many many people watched.

In essence, Nielsen ratings help determine the audience size and composition of television programming.

An interactive course in television production.

An excellent site for media theory and media studies 2.0.

A huge collection of links to various sites of interest in the media studies field.

Columbia University's guide to figuring out which corporations own which media sources. Includes Canadian content.