This report presents an overview of the different questions used by Statistics Canada to identify Aboriginal peoples. The report consists of three parts: Part one is a brief description of the data sources and their limitations. The remaining two parts cover the questions used to identify Aboriginal peoples. Part 2 deals with questions used in the census, and Part 3 deals with questions used in the Aboriginal Peoples Survey (APS) and in the Aboriginal Children's Survey (ACS).

The IAOS (International Association for Official Statistics) Satellite Meeting "Measuring Small and Indigenous Populations" was held in Wellington on 14-15 April 2005. The meeting was hosted by New Zealand's national statistics office, Statistics New Zealand, and was held in conjunction with the International Statistical Institute (ISI) 2005 Conference in Sydney, Australia.

Axelsson P, Sköld P. Indigenous Peoples and Demography: The Complex Relation between Identity and Statistics. New York: Berghahn Books; 2011.

Profiles for every First Nation group in BC.

"...collection of First Nations economic development initiatives in BC... combines primary data on Aboriginal owned Companies with secondary data on Communities, Major Projects, Companies, and Agreements. The data originates from a variety of sources including First Nations, provincial and federal governments, Aboriginal businesses and the private and non-government sectors."

Librarian Gary Strike of the University of Manitoba has put together an amazing collection of links to Canadian aboriginal statistics and data sources. If you can't find what you're looking for on this list, it probably doesn't exist!

The Aboriginal peoples of Canada, as defined by the Constitution Act, 1982, comprise the Indian, Inuit and Métis peoples of Canada. These distinct groups have unique heritages, languages, cultures. Statistical information is available for the total Aboriginal population and each of the three groups.

CANSIM is Statistics Canadas key socioeconomic database. Updated daily, CANSIM provides fast and easy access to a large range of the latest statistics available in Canada.

Aboriginal Statistics at a Glance provides data users with a thematic guide to Aboriginal data at Statistics Canada. It includes data for the First Nations (North American Indian), Métis, and Inuit populations. Each theme is illustrated with a chart presenting key indicators, a plain language definition of the indicator and links to related data tables and published articles to further assist users in meeting their data needs.

These profiles present community-level information from the 2006 Census of Population.

An interactive map from Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada that includes links to First Nation community websites, First Nation census profiles and the Aboriginal Canada Portal.

A yearly snapshot of summary stats related to aboriginal peoples. The most useful part of this resources is historical - use it to search for aboriginal stats over time.

This statistical program develops population projections by Aboriginal identity for Canada, the provinces, census metropolitan areas and other selected regions based on various assumptions and scenarios on the components of population growth.

Browse the Data Liberation Initiative collection accessible via VIU subscription. The Data Liberation Initiative (DLI) is a cost-effective program for improving access to data resources at Canadian postsecondary institutions. Colleges and universities pay an annual subscription fee to participate in the DLI and gain unlimited access to numerous Statistics Canada data and geographic information system products for their faculty and students.

The World Bank's section on indigenous people. Lots of reports that contain stats.

Some stats resources under the "Resources" menu.

Information portal on Indigenous Peoples issues in Latin American and the Caribbean countries, used by the Gender and Diversity Unit at the IADB for related projects and made available for public use.

Information on American Indians and Alaska natives from the US Census.

Health statistics related to American Indian/Alaska native peoples from the US Department of Health and Human Services.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people live in all parts of Australia; from large cities to small country towns and very remote communities. They speak approximately 250 languages and identify with distinct cultural groups.

This diversity is acknowledged by the Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) and the organisation is committed to improving the quality and comprehensiveness of the available data on Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people.

From the Australian Human Rights Commission: This collection of statistics has been chosen to highlight the current situation of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples in Australia (hereon referred to as Indigenous peoples) across a range of indicators including: health; education; employment; housing; and contact with criminal justice and welfare systems.

An overview of Māori stats and data from Stats New Zealand.

A guide to stats and data on Pacific Peoples in New Zealand, by New Zeland's official statistics body.