Library Guides @ VIU: Biol 322: Terrestrial Ecosystems: Reference Materials

Reference Material - in print

Reference materials consist of items such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, almanacs, handbooks, manuals, and atlases that are referred to for general, overview information.

The following titles are examples of some of the Reference Materials available in the VIU Library :

A dictionary of ecology, evolution, and systematics
Call Number: QH 540.4 L56 1998 Stacks
Ecological and environmental physiology of birds, 2010
Call Number: QL 698.95 E24 2010 Stacks
The ecozones of the world : the ecological divisions of the geosphere
Call Number: QH 84 S3813 2005 Stacks
Encyclopedia of biodiversity
Call Number: QH 541.15 B56 E53 2001 v.1-5 Stacks
Encyclopedia of entomology
Call Number: QL 462.3 E522 2004 V.1-4 Stacks
Encyclopedia of insects
Call Number: QL 462.3 E483 2003 Stacks
Encyclopedia of water
Call Number: GB 655 N38 2003 Stacks
Forest ecology and conservation : a handbook of techniques
Call Number: QH 541.5 F6 N475 2007 Stacks

Reference Materials - electronic/online

Reference materials consist of items such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, almanacs, handbooks, manuals, and atlases that are referred to for general, overview information.

The following titles are examples of some of the Reference Materials available in the VIU Library :

Arctic alpine ecosystems and people in a changing environment, 2007
Arctic biodiversity trends : report for policy makers, 2013
Arctic climate issues 2011 : changes in Arctic snow, water, ice and permafrost , 2012
Arctic Ecozone+ highlights and key findings summary : Canadian biodiversity - ecosystem status and trends 2010. Evidence for key findings summary report No. 14
Big ecology : the emergence of ecosystem science , 2010
Boreal peatland ecosystems, 2006
Changing Cold Environments: A Canadian Perspective, 2011
Conservation Handbook: Research, Management, and Policy, 2008
Dictionary of Ecology
Ecology and ecosystem conservation , 2007
Ecosystems and human well-being : a manual for assessment practitioners 2010
Ecotones between forest and grassland,2012
Ecozones of the World : The Ecological Divisions of the Geosphere, 2005
Encyclopedia of Earth: Global Change in the Arctic
Encyclopedia of Earth: Grassland Biome
Encyclopedia of entomology, 2008
Encyclopedia of snow, ice and glaciers, 2011
Encyclopedia of soil science, 2008
Final report : executive summary : Managing for the ecological socioeconomic effects of climate change on BC rangelands , 2013
Forgotten grasslands of the South [electronic resource] : natural history and conservation, 2013
Frontiers in understanding climate change and polar ecosystems : report of a workshop, 2011
Grass : in search of human habitat, 2009
Grasses and grassland ecology, 2009
Grassland biodiversity : habitat types, ecological processes and environmental impacts, 2010
Grasslands : types, biodiversity and impacts , 2012
Guidelines for native seed production and grassland restoration, 2014
Identification of Ecologically and Biologically Significant Areas (EBSAs) in the Canadian Arctic , 2013
Impact of Climate Change on Vegetation and Permafrost in West Siberia Subarctic, 2013
The Impact of Melting Ice on the Ecosystems in Greenland Sea, 2014
The Impact of Melting Ice on the Ecosystems in Greenland Sea : Correlations on Ice Cover, Phytoplankton Biomass, AOD and PAR, 2014
Influence of climate change on the changing Arctic and Sub-Arctic conditions, 2009
- "Proceedings of the NATO Advanced Research Workshop on Influence of Climate Change on the Changing Arctic and Sub-Arctic Conditions, Liège, Belgium, 8-10 May 2008"
The Insects : An Outline of Entomology, 2014
Key findings from International Polar Year 2007-2008 at Fisheries and Oceans Canada: bringing science to policy and programs
Land of sweeping plains : managing and restoring the native temperate grasslands of south-eastern Australia, 2015
Long-Term Ecological Research : Changing the Nature of Scientists, 2016
- see Part Three: Arctic LTER Site
Making grasslands sustainable in Mongolia : assessment of key elements of nationally appropriate mitigation actions for grassland and livestock management , 2014
Microbiology of extreme soils, 2008
Modeling of the Interannual Variation in Ecosystem Respiration of a Semiarid Grassland, 2011
New permafrost and glacier research , 2009
Opportunities to use remote sensing in understanding permafrost and related ecological characteristics : report of a workshop , 2014
Oxford Reference Online - Arctic Ecosystem
- scroll through the pages of entries
- an online dictionary that includes biology, ecology, animal behaviour, genetics, zoology, plant sciences, etc.
Oxford Reference Online - Earth and Environmental Sciences
- an online dictionary which includes earth science, ecology, geography, environment and conservation, etc.
The Pacific Arctic Region : Ecosystem Status and Trends in a Rapidly Changing Environment, 2014
Permafrost ecosystems : Siberian Larch forests, 2010
Permafrost hydrology, 2012
The Permafrost of the High Arctic, 2015
- a video
Permafrost soils, 2009
- "Summarizes knowledge on various aspects of permafrost and permafrost-affected soils, including typical properties of these soils, the distribution and biodiversity of permafrost microorganisms, examples for microbial activity in frozen soils and genomic and proteomic insights into cold adaptation of permafrost bacteria."
Principles of terrestrial ecosystem ecology , 2011
Proceedings of the Pacific regional peer review of the identification of ecologically and biologically significant areas (EBSAs) in the offshore Pacific bioregion : February 11-12, 2015, Nanaimo, BC
Savannas of our birth : people, wildlife, and change in East Africa , 2012
Science at the Top of the World - Field Work: Permafrost - Part 1 - Getting There
- an NFB Film
Science at the Top of the World - Field Work: Permafrost - Part 2 - How to Measure It
- an NFB Film
The Sensitive Skin of the Earth : Microscopic Plant Life and the Health of Our Planet, 2011
- a film
Soil Ecology/ Lavelle, 2001
Species and communities in extreme environments : festschrift towards the 75th anniversary and a laudatio in honour of academician Yuri Ivanovich Chernov, 2009
State of the Arctic Coast, 2010: Scientific Review and Outlook
Tundras : Vegetation, Wildlife and Climate Trends, 2010
Wildlife Ecology, Conservation and Management , 2009

Library

Biol 322: Terrestrial Ecosystems

Reference Material - in print

Reference Materials - electronic/online

About VIU

Academics

Campuses

About VIU

Academics

Student Life

Campuses