- a work in progress

- identification, images, and information for insects and their kin in Canada and the U.S.

- a listing of the curatorial collection

- from the Ministry of Forests, Mines, and Lands

- international information on "amphibian declines, conservation, natural history, and taxonomy"

- "a large searchable encyclopedia of the natural history of animals"
- species accounts are written by graduate students, therefore, this site "cannot guarantee their accuracy"

- contains over 31,000 species, 291,100 Common names, along with picture and references

- access to 265,147,555 data records, including species data sets, country species records, etc.

- 1892 - 1982, full text online
- this historical compendium of parasitology literature continues to be a key resource to researchers for "parasitology, re-emerging diseases, neglected tropical disease, zoonoses, global animal health, and one health / one medicine"

- a Global Plant Checklist that provides links to numerous plant databases

- includes the scientific name and taxonomy of viruses, bacteria, protozoa, animalia, and plantae

- provides information on "the names and associated basic bibliographical details of seed plants, ferns and fern allies"

- a species search engine

- provides taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world

- provides links to online taxonomy resources for general catagories: algae, fungi, plants, insects, other arthropodes, mulloscs, other invertebrates, other eukaryotes, archea & bacteria, viruses, and culture collections e.g. E coli, Rattus norvegicus

- " provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories"
- includes information on classification, characteristics, alternative crops, invasive weeds, culturally significant plants, threatened & endangered species, etc.

- "the project provides information about biodiversity, the characteristics of different groups of organisms, and their evolutionary history (phylogeny)"

- "an initiative within the science library community to join international efforts to create and utilize a comprehensive and collaborative catalog of known names of all living (and once-living) organisms"

- "a continuously growing taxonomic database and information system that allows you to search and browse a number of online species banks covering a wide variety of organisms"

- available online from the VIU Library

- a referenced article from Wikipedia

- a referenced article from Wikipedia

- explanatory notes from a Biology 261 instructor at Cal State U.

- includes how to read an evolutionary tree, how to classify organisms, how to reconstruct an evolutionary tree, and how these evolutionary trees are used