Library Guides @ VIU: History: Pop Culture

LibrarySearch: Find articles, books and more

Magazines, Newspapers, & Pamphlets, pre-1950

Newspapers Guide | Library@VIU
British Colonist newspaper, 1858-1910 | University of Victoria
Paper also called Daily British Colonist, Daily Colonist.
Canada Year Book (CYB) Historical Collection | Library and Archives Canada
"Discover Canada's social and economic past through the people... It covers the first century of Canada's history, from 1867 to 1967, with historical text, tables, charts and maps, supplemented by interconnected learning resources for students and teachers."
Canadian Mail Order Catalogues, 1880-1975 | Library and Archives Canada
Canadian Pamphlets and Broadsides Collection | University of Toronto Libraries
Canadian Printer and Publisher | University of Toronto Libraries
Digital editions for 1892-1911
Comic Books in English Canada | Library and Archives Canada
A few issues, 1940-1989.

Globe and Mail (June 1844 - 3 years ago): ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Full-page image digital newspaper archive of The Globe and Mail from June 1844. Includes all the stories, images, advertisements, classifieds, political cartoons, births and deaths covered in this national newspaper, dating back to the pre-Confederation era.

Google News Archive
Martlet, UVic's student newspaper, 1948-1973 | University of Victoria
Prince George Newspapers, 1909-1971
Special Editions of Canadian Newspapers | Library and Archives Canada
Special colour newspaper supplements to mark important events.

Primary Sources: Images

Finland Wartime Photo Archive: 160,000 Images From World War II
Historypin
"Historypin is made up of photographic images, videos, audio clips and descriptive and narrative text.
Photographic images can be pinned directly to the Historypin map by users."
National Archives UK's photostream
Collections include Canada, Africa, artwork & artifacts, and photography
NFB Images
High Definition footage and archival treasures from the National Film Board of Canada and partners. "NFB IMAGES features images from around the world: classic and contemporary material on war and conflict, industrialization, rural and urban lifestyles, celebrities, wildlife and a treasure trove of film footage on the Arctic."
Vintage Ad Browser
Over 100,000 vintage advertisements from the 1800s to 2000s.

Alcohol: Selected Internet Sources

Alcohol, Temperance & Prohibition | Brown University Library
"The digitized pamphlets were published by various groups leading up to prohibition, during the prohibition era, and ending with the 21st amendment in 1933, which repealed the 18th amendment from 1919 prohibiting the manufacturing, sale or transportation of intoxicating liquors."
Temperance & Prohibition | Ohio State University
"...on the rise of the American prohibition movement.
Material includes cartoons and photos and lots of text on events and major figures."
Temperance pledge | McCord Museum
Temperance | Internet Archive

Smoking: Selected Internet Sources

Coffin Nails: the tobacco controversy in the 19th century
Text, cartoons, and ads from the pages of Harper's Weekly, 1857-1912.
Not a Cough in a Carload: Images from the...campaign to hide the hazards of smoking
From the Stanford School of Medicine.
Truth in Advertsing: a collection of vintage cigarette advertisements from the age of innocence
Legacy Tobacco Documents Library
From the University of California, San Francisco. "Contains more than 11 million documents (60+ million pages) created by major tobacco companies related to their advertising, manufacturing, marketing, sales, and scientific research activities."

HistoryPin

From the site:

...Historypin is made up of photographic images, videos, audio clips and descriptive and narrative text.

Photographic images can be pinned directly to the Historypin map by users. These images can be of any location - outdoors or indoors - at any time in the past.

Some of these images, if they are taken outdoors, at street level and at certain angles, will be able to be layered onto Street View (this is a bonus, not a requirement).

Audio and video content can be pinned to the map by users. These should be pinned to the location and date where they were recorded...

HistoryPin's mobile app reveals past photos taken near your current location and allows you to view them layered over the modern scene.