"Orange Shirt Day is a legacy of the St. Joseph Mission (SJM) residential school commemoration event held in Williams Lake, BC, Canada, in the spring of 2013. It grew out of Phyllis' story of having her shiny new orange shirt taken away on her first day of school at the Mission, and it has become an opportunity to keep the discussion on all aspects of residential schools happening annually."
"The TRCs archives divides into two parts. The first part of the collection are the documents that were created by the government and churches that ran the schools. Student records are mixed throughout these records. The second part of the collection are the statements that were given to the Commission. The vast majority of the records are in digital form: audio/video recordings for the statements and digitized scans of the church and government records."
"... an archives, resource centre, dialogue space and online hub that provides access to records related to the residential school system in British Columbia and across Canada. The Centre can also help to facilitate research partnerships and connections with other archives, organizations and/or other applicable parties."
"...partners work together with the Survivor groups, church entities, educators, First Nations and others to research, collect, preserve, and display the history of the residential and day schools across Canada. "
"The Legacy of Hope Foundation (LHF) is a national Indigenous-led, charitable organization founded in 2000 with the goal of educating and raising awareness about the history and many legacies of the Residential School System."
"... digital stories documenting resistance to the residential school system. The project... aimed to increase awareness of resistance acts and strategies, and their relevance in today's context and promote intergenerational healing."
Survivor stories, including a collection for use by K-8 educators. Many stories are shared through hosting agreements with the Legacy of Hope Foundation and the NCTR. The Survivors own their stories. If a Survivor withdraws consent for sharing their story, it will removed from the website, and the Storybase.
"Library and Archives Canada presents photographs from its collection on Residential Schools, taken between 1885 and 1996." Website access updated, Residential Schools: Photographic Collections no longer displaying properly. View the photographs via LAC Collection Search.
Website on the history of the United Church’s Indian Residential Schools including digitized photographs from collections in the United Church national archives in Toronto and the BC Conference Archives.