Includes archival sources, books, articles, film and audio media, oral histories, theses, images, websites, and more.
See resources in: Education > Residential Schools
Collections include:
The Alaska Indian Language Collection (Gonzaga University)
The Association on American Indian Archives (AAIA and Princeton University)
Citizenship Case Files of the U.S. Court in Indian Territory, 1896‐1897 (U.S. National Archives)
Great Nemaha Agency Collection, 1866‐1873 (Wichita State University)
The Indian School Journal (Chilocco Indian School)
The Javitch Collection (University of Alberta)
Letters Sent by the Indian Division of the Office of the Secretary of the Interior, 1849‐1903 (U.S. National Archives)
Moravian Mission among the Indians of North America (Moravian Archives)
The Pacific Northwest Tribes Missions Collection of the Oregon Province Archives of the Society of Jesus, 1853‐1960 (Gonzaga University)
Papers of Henry Rowe Schoolcraft (Library of Congress)
The Papers of the Society of American Indians, 1906‐1946 (Private Collection of John Larner)
Records of the Creek Factory of the Office of Indian Trade of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, 1795‐1821 (U.S. National Archives)
W. S. Prettyman Photograph Collection (Wichita State University)
* A note on the database title. VIU Library facilitates access to this database by listing it under B for Borderlands, not by the vendor title which begins with the word “Frontier”. Frontier is a term that is sufficiently problematic that certain progressive historians have called it the “F-word”. It is emblematic of a colonial worldview, carrying notions of inevitable advancement of progress and civilization, of adventure and exceptionalism. We have advised the provider of our concerns, and have taken this action while they consider theirs.
This collection of digitized primary source materials from Adam Matthew Digital documents relationships and interactions between new arrivals and indigenous peoples.Coverage includes sources from North America, Africa and Australasia, including documents from the Glenbow Museum and Hudson Bay’s Archive. The collection deals with themes that include: settlement development, law and order, violence, expeditions and exploration, relations with Indigenous peoples, trade and commerce, death and disease, missionaries and religion, women’s history, military matters, mining, religion, gold rushes, settler governance, contested boundaries, agriculture and livestock.
Please note: Curio.ca does not work with Internet Explorer 8. Please use Firefox, Chrome or higher versions of Internet Explorer to access Curio.ca content. Curio.ca provides access to thousands of programs and documentaries from CBC and Radio-Canada. English and French-language content is included and updated weekly.
Online films from the National Film Board of Canada. CAMPUS subscription provides ability to make playlists, together with access to some additional titles, guides, and curricular materials. VIU faculty may set up personal NFB Campus accounts that allow access to special features, such as creating custom clips and playlists - please email dl_libsystems@viu.ca to obtain the current account activation link.
The VIU community acknowledges and thanks the Snuneymuxw, Quw’utsun and Tla’amin, on whose traditional lands we teach, learn, research, live and share knowledge.
Report a Problem
