It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
"This service, based on the Google Custom Search engine, lets you search the contents of the repositories listed in OpenDOAR for freely available academic research information. This quality assured approach minimises (but does not eliminate!) spurious or junk results, and leads more directly to useful and relevant information. Full texts are available for most results."
Open Access Databases
These databases offer full or partial open access to content.
Database of records describing publications and research projects about northern Canada. This project of the Arctic Institute of North America at the University of Calgary also maintains subset databases about specific regions, subjects and projects.
- provides "free access to a searchable database of journal articles from over 600 scholarly journals published in Finland from 1990 onwards" - includes areas of the sciences, social sciences and humanities
Comprehensive bibliography of scholarly writing about the history of western art. Includes the International Bibliography of Art (IBA), covering the years 2008 and part of 2009. Journals Included in BHA (PDF, 308 K)
Open access to peer reviewed bioscience journals published in developing countries. These journals contain timely research on public health, international development, tropical medicine, food and nutritional security and biodiversity.
A service of AMEDEO, created to serve the needs of healthcare professionals, including physicians, nurses, pharmacists, administrators, other members of the health professions, and patients and their friends. They can easily access timely, relevant information within their respective fields.
FreeBMD is an ongoing project, the aim of which is to transcribe the Civil Registration index of births, marriages and deaths for England and Wales, and to provide free Internet access to the transcribed records.
Searches link to VIU resources where applicable. Search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
- from 1995 to current - provides over 58,000 DOE research & development reports in full text in the sciences (physics, chemistry, materials biology, environmental sciences, energy technologies, engineering, computer & information science, and renewable energy)
"...digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Like a paper library, we provide free access to researchers, historians, scholars, the print disabled, and the general public."
High Definition footage and archival treasures from the National Film Board of Canada and partners. "NFB IMAGES features images from around the world: classic and contemporary material on war and conflict, industrialization, rural and urban lifestyles, celebrities, wildlife and a treasure trove of film footage on the Arctic."
Gale Artemis: Primary Sources
... wide array of primary source material from the 17th, 18th & 19th centuries, including Indigenous Peoples: North America.
Chatham House Online Archive
... publications and archives of the Royal Institute of International Affairs is a multi-disciplinary resource bringing a 20th and 21st century world perspective to researchers and students.
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive
... historical archive that embraces the scholarly study of slavery in a comprehensive, conceptual, and global way.
State Papers Online, 1509-1714
... gathers together 16th- and 17th- century British State Papers and links these rare historical manuscripts to their fully text-searchable calendars.
... delivers single-point access to Gale’s ever-growing collection of historical newspapers and periodicals — currently more than 12 million digitized facsimile pages from newspapers and periodicals around the world.
British Literary Manuscripts Online
... hundreds of thousands of pages of rare manuscripts, poems, plays, essays, novels, diaries, journals, correspondence, and other manuscripts from the year 1100 through the Victorian era.
Declassified Documents Reference System
... provides direct information on the critical policies and events of post World War II era, including reports from Cabinet meeting minutes, National Security Council policy statements, CIA intelligence studies, presidential conferences, State Department political analyses, and Joint Chiefs' papers.
PubMed includes links to full-text articles which may be found in other databases such as PubMed Central or at publisher web sites. Includes citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals back to 1948.
- "comprehensive scientific research tool on the web. With over 410 million scientific items indexed at last count, it allows researchers to search for not only journal content but also scientists' homepages, courseware, pre-print server material, patents and institutional repository and website information"
Search all theses in Library and Archives Canada's theses collection, which was established in 1965; and access and search the full text electronic versions of numerous Canadian theses and dissertations.