Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

The Right Place to Publish: Considerations in Choosing a Journal or Publisher

The Library offers many options for Research Help. You can book an appointment if needed.


For detailed questions, an appointment with a liaison librarian may be appropriate. To make an appointment, please contact your liaison as below.

Jean Blackburn

Collections Coordinator; Library Systems
Liaison for: Health Programs (Dental Assistant, Dental Hygiene, Health Care Assistant, Nursing, Practical Nursing); Music; Cowichan Campus
p. 250.753.3245, ext 2091
e. jean.blackburn@viu.ca

Patricia Geddes

Librarian & Coordinator for Indigenous Initiatives
Liaison for: Indigenous / Xwulmuxw Studies; Aboriginal Education Services; Faculty of Academic & Career Preparation; Modern Languages
p: 250.753.3245, ext 2740
e: patricia.geddes@viu.ca

Natalie Hajduk

Reference & Instruction Librarian
Liaison for: Science and Technology, English as a Second Language
p: 250.740.6330 
e: natalie.hajduk@viu.ca

Dana McFarland

Librarian & Coordinator for eResources & Scholarly Communication; Library Systems
Liaison for: History, Indigenous / Xwulmuxw Studies; Faculty of Education; Community Scholars
p: 250.740.6332
e: dana.mcfarland@viu.ca

Luke McLeod

Learning Commons Librarian
Liaison for: Faculty of Management; Trades & Applied Technology; Creative Writing & Journalism; English; Theatre; Art and Design; Powell River Campus
p: 250.753.3245, ext. 4287
e: luke.mcleod@viu.ca

Kathleen Reed

Assessment Librarian, Data Services Coordinator
Liaison for: Media Studies, Women's Studies, Early Childhood Education, Child & Youth Care, Social Work, Education Assistant and Community Support; Faculty of Social Sciences; Data Services
p: 250.753.3245, ext 2271
e: kathleen.reed@viu.ca

Daniel Sifton

Library Automation & Technical Services Coordinator; Library Systems
Liaison for: Faculty of Education
p: 250.753.3245, ext 2444
e: daniel.sifton@viu.ca

Lori Walter

Librarian and Coordinator for Copyright and Open Licensing
e: lori.walter@viu.ca

VIU Footer