Library Guides @ VIU: Child & Youth Care: CYC Journals & Links

Key CYC Journals & Magazines

ERIC
Indexing and some full text coverage for journals, reports, and other types of education information, including the ERIC Thesaurus, from 1966 to date. ERIC has also been available for open access through the US Department of Education. This version is available at:
http://eric.ed.gov/ERICWebPortal/search/extended.jsp?_pageLabel=advanced
and has been archived at:
https://web.archive.org/collection-search/files.eric.ed.gov/

PsycINFO
more...less...
PsycINFO, the American Psychological Association?s (APA) resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains citations and summaries dating as far back as the early 1800s. Journal coverage, which spans from 1887 to present, includes international material selected from periodicals in more than 27 languages.

PsycARTICLES
PsycARTICLES, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains articles from journals published by the APA, and its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychology Association and Hogrefe Publishing Group.

Canadian Child Welfare Research Portal
The Canadian Child Welfare Research Portal (CWRP) provides access to up-to-date research on Canadian child welfare programs and policies.
Evidence-Based Practice Resource Center (Mental and Substance Use Disorders)
This database is a searchable online registry of more than 170 interventions supporting mental health promotion, substance abuse prevention, and mental health and substance abuse treatment.
Evidence-Based Programs Database
“The Program Directory is a searchable database of evidence-based, federally-funded youth programs. You can search for programs by risk factor, protective factor, or keyword."
Promising Practices
“The PPN site features summaries of programs and practices that are proven to improve outcomes for children. All programs have been screened for quality and to ensure that they have evidence of positive effects.”
What Works Clearinghouse
Institute for Education Sciences (IES) at the U.S. Department of Education provides evidence on practice, interventions and policy.
Adolescents: Evidence-Based Resources
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services page listing out various evidence-based resources for youth.