Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

VIU Library Special Collections

Welcome to VIU Library Special Collections

VIU Library Special Collections identifies, collects, preserves and provides access to rare and/or archival materials that support the educational, scholarly, and research needs of the VIU community. 

(For more information, see our Guidelines page.)

Due to the rare, valuable, and unique nature of this material, Special Collections is non-circulating and held in closed stacks. Research is conducted in the Reading Room, by appointment.

Contact Us

To book a class visit or research appointment, please complete and submit a Special Collections Instruction & Access Request.

Questions? Please get in touch:

Library Research Help Research.Help@viu.ca  
Andie Tomlinson, Coordinator for Special Collections & Digital Integrations (on leave) Andie.Tomlinson@viu.ca 250.753.3245 ext 2268
Ben Hyman, University Librarian Ben.Hyman@viu.ca  

Patricia Geddes, Coordinator for Indigenous Initiatives.

As needed, responsive and relational procedures and protocols for access by Indigenous community members to Indigenous Knowledges held in Special Collections may be coordinated with Patricia Geddes, Coordinator for Indigenous Initiatives.

Patricia.Geddes@viu.ca

250.753.3245 ext 2740

VIU Footer