Library Guides @ VIU: Business Law: Articles & Other Databases

LibrarySearch: Find articles, books and more

Legal & Standards Databases

The following databases provide access to Canadian federal and provincial laws and legislation (e.g. Quicklaw) or they provide reporting standards and legal requirements for particular areas of business (e.g. accounting).

** Information from these resources usually CANNOT be found through LibrarySearch. **

CPA Canada Standards and Guidance Collection (CPACHB) This link opens in a new window
CICA Handbook of accounting standards
CriminalSource This link opens in a new window
Includes the full text of Canadian Criminal Cases, Martin’s Annual Criminal Code and Martin’s Related Criminal Statutes.
Financial Reporting in Canada under IFRS (FRICIFRS) This link opens in a new window
Continues the previous handbook, Financial Reporting in Canada. Looks at the application of IFRS from a Canadian perspective by examining and explaining IFRS requirements and illustrating their application using real-world extracts of financial statements from companies that have already adopted IFRS.
Quicklaw This link opens in a new window
Canadian court case, statutes & regulations, and legal journals. Users must log in with student or employee number and Library PIN.

Other Databases

The following business & management databases contain articles concerning business law and legal issues.

Business Source Complete: Business Searching Interface This link opens in a new window
Use Business Source Complete to search for literature and analysis in business and management. This version allows searching by discipline-specific content types and fields, which include:
Academic Articles
Business Videos
Company Information
Industry Profiles
Market Research Reports
Company Profiles
Country Reports
SWOT Analyses
Trade Journals
Working Papers
NAICS