Skip to main content

Dental Hygiene and Dental Assistant: Annotated Bibliography - DENA 110

Writing an Annotated Bibliography in APA Style

                        Writing an Annotated Bibliography

 

An annotated bibliography is an organized list of citations to books, articles, and documents, containing brief descriptions of each source.  It may be the list of sources you intend to use for your research paper or it may be a list of sources you reviewed before writing your research paper.

 

An annotated bibliography consists of two distinct parts: 1) a citation of the source, and 2) a summary of what that source is about.  With most style guides, the annotation immediately follows each specific citation in an organized format (e.g. alphabetical listing). 

 

An Annotated bibliography serves a variety of purposes:

- it summarizes an entire work with a brief description

- it provides a review of the literature published/available on a given topic

- it illustrates the scope and quality of the literature research you have conducted

- assists readers to decide if a source is appropriate for their research

- it can inform the reader about the accuracy and relevance of a piece of research

- it often serves as the first step in a larger research project by helping the researcher organize the material and examine the potential use of each source.  It enables the researcher to gain some perspective on a topic and to identify a good research question or thesis.

 

Parts of an Annotated Bibliography

 1.  The Bibliography (Citation or Reference List)

The bibliography is formatted according to a specific style guide such as the APA style.  Each citation should contain a complete set of bibliographic information.  For example, a journal citation should include:  title of the article, title of the journal, author, date, volume, issue, and the range of pages).  Double space the annotated bibliography and indent the left margin of the annotation (5 spaces from the start of the citation).

 

2.  The Annotation

An annotation is a summary of a particular source added after a citation in a bibliography. It is written in paragraph form and is usually a few to several sentences long.

An annotation should help readers decide if he/she wants to use a particular source for their own paper or not.  It should be brief and include only significant information.  The possible target audience should be considered.  The main focus or purpose of the article (or theme of a book) should be summarized.

A second form of annotation, in addition to a summary, may also compare/contrast this work with that of another author.  You may explain how the work relates to your specific research topic.  You may evaluate the work in terms of weaknesses, strengths, or biases in the work.  This type of annotation could then be longer (e.g. 2-3 paragraphs).

 

The title for an APA annotated bibliography is: References (centered on the top of the page).

The APA citation for the article studied in class

Awadalla, H. I., Ragab, M. H., Bassuoni, M. W., Fayed,

     M. T., & Abbas, M. O. (2011). A pilot study of the

     role of green tea use on oral health.  International

     Journal of Dental Hygiene, 9(2), 110-116.

     doi:10.1111/j.1601-5037.2009.00440.x   

 

 

 

Note: After the first line, indent the remaining citation 5 spaces from the left margin.

This is a draft example of an annotation (Summary) for the article studied in class

 

Dental caries, which is mainly caused by the bacteria Streptococcus mutans, is a disease that is widely spread throughout the world.   Antibiotics used to eliminate oral bacteria can have bad side-effects.   Therefore, this pilot study tests an alternative measure in the form of a mouth rinse (2 % solution) made from green tea (Camellia sinensis) which may have possible antibacterial and anticariogenic properties.  A comparison of the health of subjects’ oral cavities was made using the data collected before and after rinsing with green tea.  The tea was found to have an inhibitory effect on the bacteria, S. mutans.  Researchers suggest that the application of a green tea solution may be a cost effective way of preventing caries in developing countries.

 

 

 

 

Note:  Indent the entire annotation 5 spaces from the left margin and double space.

Combining the citation and annotation to create an Annotated Bibliography (studied in class)

Awadalla, H. I., Ragab, M. H., Bassuoni, M. W., Fayed,

     M. T., & Abbas, M. O. (2011). A pilot study of the

     role of green tea use on oral health.  International

     Journal of Dental Hygiene, 9(2), 110-116.

     doi:10.1111/j.1601-5037.2009.00440.x   

 

     Dental caries, which is mainly caused by the bacteria Streptococcus mutans, is a disease that is widely

     spread throughout the world.   Antibiotics used to eliminate oral bacteria can have bad side-effects.

     Therefore, this pilot study tests an alternative measure, in the form of a mouth rinse (2 % solution) made

     from green tea (Camellia sinensis) which may have possible antibacterial and anticariogenic properties.

     A comparison of the health of subjects’ oral cavities was made using the data collected before and after

     rinsing with green tea.  The tea was found to have an inhibitory effect on the bacteria, S. mutans.

     Researchers suggest that the application of a green tea solution may be a cost effective way of preventing

     caries in developing countries.

 

 

Note:  The above annotation and citation should both be double spaced.

 

APA Style: Electronic Sources

Annotated Bibliography - APA Style

VIU Footer